Places Turkey

Do you like to travel, share your impressions and photographs of the world around you? Then join us to show the world through the focus of your camera the beauty of your city, country or any other your favorite place!

Place description

Ephesus (lat. Ephesus, GK. Ἔφεσος, tour. Efes) — ancient city on the Western coast of Asia Minor, at the confluence of Caister (sovr. Small Menderes), South of Smyrna (modern. Izmir) and West of the city of Ephesus (modern Turkey). The city's population reached 225 thousand people.

His fame of Ephesus was largely due to the local cult of the Eastern goddess of fertility, over time, identified with the Greek goddess Artemis. The worship of the goddess goes from time immemorial, but the construction of her dedicated temple, one of the seven wonders of the world, began in the first half of the VI century BC.

The city was founded on the banks of the Aegean sea as a port and developed rapidly through trade. 500 years B. C. the city moved to the hill Ayasoluk near the present town of Selcuk, as the Bay silted up and completely flat. Subsequently, the sea continued to retreat from the city, and that was the reason for his decline. Earthquakes and landslides finally buried the ruins under the ground, thus preserving them for archaeologists. Today the ruins of Ephesus, for the most part reconstructed, is located at a distance of about 6 km from the sea, on the saddle between two hills.

Ephesus (in another writing — Ephesus) and its residents repeatedly mentioned in the Acts of the apostles (cf. 18:19-21, acts. 18:24-26 and 19 is almost completely Chapter of the "Acts"). The Ephesian Church appears in the Apocalypse of the Apostle and Evangelist John the theologian (cf. 1:11, Rev. 2:1-7). These books, as well as the Ephesians of the Apostle Paul are included in the New Testament.

In 1869, British scientists produced the first archaeological excavations Lysimachus founded a city on a mountain, in which were revealed to the world the beauty of the ancient city. Currently, the archaeological site of Ephesus, the size of more than ten kilometers, is located in the vicinity of the Turkish town of Selcuk. In the Selcuk Museum contains unique finds from Ephesus temples.

Tours to Turkey

Потратьте меньше денег, воспользуйтесь всеми удобствами

Места Турции

Любите путешествовать, делиться своими впечатлениями и фотографиями окружающего вас мира? Тогда присоединяйтесь к нам, чтобы показать всему миру через фокус своей фотокамеры красоту вашего города, страны, достопримечательности или любого другого любимого вами места!

Описание

Эфе́с (лат. Ephesus, греч. Ἔφεσος, тур. Efes) — древний город на западном побережье Малой Азии, при впадении реки Каистр (совр. Малый Мендерес), южнее Смирны (совр. Измир) и западнее города Сельчук (современная территория Турции). Население города достигало 225 тыс. жителей.

Своей славой Эфес в большой степени обязан местному культу восточной богини плодородия, со временем отождествлённой с греческой богиней Артемидой. Поклонение богине идёт с незапамятных времён, но строительство посвящённого ей храма, одного из семи чудес света, началось в первой половине VI века до н. э.

Город был заложен на берегу Эгейского моря как портовый и быстро развивался за счёт торговли. В 500-годах н. э. город перенесён на холм Айясолук вблизи нынешнего города Сельчук, поскольку бухта заилилась и полностью обмелела. Впоследствии море продолжило отступать от города, что и стало причиной его упадка. Землетрясения и оползни окончательно похоронили руины под землёй, тем самым сохранив их для археологов. Сегодня развалины Эфеса, большей частью реконструированные, находятся на расстоянии около 6 км от берега моря на седловине между двух холмов.

Эфес (в ином написании — Ефес) и его жители многократно упоминаются в Деяниях святых апостолов (см. Деян. 18:19-21, Деян. 18:24-26 и практически полностью 19-ю главу «Деяний»). Ефесская церковь фигурирует в Апокалипсисе апостола и евангелиста Иоанна Богослова (см. Откр. 1:11, Откр. 2:1-7). Эти книги, а также Послание к Ефесянам апостола Павла входят в состав Нового Завета.

В 1869 году английскими учёными были произведены первые археологические раскопки основанного Лисимахом города на горе, в результате которых миру была открыта красота античного города. В настоящее время археологическая зона Эфеса, размером более десяти километров, находится в окрестности турецкого города Сельчук. В музее Сельчука собраны уникальные находки из эфесских храмов.

Туры в Турцию

Потратьте меньше денег, воспользуйтесь всеми удобствами