Places Australia

Do you like to travel, share your impressions and photographs of the world around you? Then join us to show the world through the focus of your camera the beauty of your city, country or any other your favorite place!

Place description

Hyde Park (eng. Hyde Park) is a large urban Park in Sydney.

The history of the Park leads from 13 October 1810, when the Governor of New South Wales Lachlan Macquarie ordered to take the area for "rest and recreation area for residents of the city and exercises for the troops", later named after London's Hyde Park.[1]

Hyde Park is located on an area of 16 hectares to the East of the Sydney business district to the South coast to Port Jackson. The Park has a rectangular shape, in the Northern part somewhat rounded. From the West the area is bordered by Elizabeth street, to the South Liverpool street from East College street to the North, St James road and Prince albert road. Approximately two equal parts, North and South, divides the Park street Park street.[2] Near the boundaries of the Park are located the Supreme court of New South Wales, St. James Church, Sydney hospital, St. Mary's Cathedral and the Downing Centre.

The Park consists of gardens, it grows 580 trees, mostly Ficus microcarpa Banyan and palm trees.[3] the Park is crossed by paths. On its territory there are several monuments in the Northern part of the Archibald fountain built in 1932.

Места Австралии

Любите путешествовать, делиться своими впечатлениями и фотографиями окружающего вас мира? Тогда присоединяйтесь к нам, чтобы показать всему миру через фокус своей фотокамеры красоту вашего города, страны, достопримечательности или любого другого любимого вами места!

Описание

Гайд-парк (англ. Hyde Park) — крупный городской парк в Сиднее.

Свою историю парк ведёт с 13 октября 1810 года, когда губернатор Нового Южного Уэльса Лаклан Маккуори приказал отвести территорию для «отдыха и развлечения жителей города и упражнений для войск», позже названную в честь лондонского Гайд-парка.[1]

Гайд-парк расположен на территории площадью 16 га к востоку от Сиднейского делового района южнее побережья Порт-Джексона. Парк имеет прямоугольную форму, в северной части несколько закруглённую. С запада территория ограничена Элизабет-стрит, с юга — Ливерпуль-стрит, с востока — Колледж-стрит, на севере — Сент-Джеймс-роуд и Принс-Альберт-роуд. Примерно на две равные части, северную и южную, парк делит улица Парк-стрит.[2] Рядом с границами парка расположены Верховный суд Нового Южного Уэльса, церковь Святого Иакова, Сиднейский госпиталь, Собор Девы Марии и Даунинг-Центр.

Парк состоит из садов, в нём произрастает 580 деревьев, главным образом, баньяна Ficus microcarpa и пальм.[3] Территория парка пересечена аллеями. На его территории расположено несколько памятников, в северной части расположен фонтан Арчибальда, построенный в 1932 году.