Places Greece

Do you like to travel, share your impressions and photographs of the world around you? Then join us to show the world through the focus of your camera the beauty of your city, country or any other your favorite place!

The Parthenon

Greece  Greece

The Parthenon

Place description

The Parthenon (ancient Greek. Παρθενών — virgin; pure) — a monument of ancient architecture, ancient Greek temple located on the Athenian Acropolis, the main temple in ancient Athens, dedicated to the patroness of this city and all Attica, the goddess Athena, the virgin (Ἀθηνᾶ Παρθένος). Built in 447-438 BC by the architect Kallikrates project Iktina and decorated in 438-431 years BC under the direction of Phidias during the reign of Pericles. Is currently in a dilapidated condition, under reconstruction.

The Parthenon remained as a temple of the goddess Athena for a thousand years. It is unknown exactly when he became a Christian Church. In the 4th century Athens had decayed and turned into a provincial city of the Roman Empire. In the 5th century the temple was robbed of one of the emperors, and all its treasures were transported to Constantinople. There is information that under Patriarch Paul III of Constantinople, the Parthenon was converted into a Church. Sofia.

At the beginning of the XIII century was destroyed statue of Athena Promachos in the period of the Fourth crusade. The statue of Athena Parthenos, probably disappeared in the 3rd century BC during the fire or before. Roman and Byzantine emperors repeatedly issued edicts banning of pagan worship, but pagan tradition in Greece was too strong. At the present stage it is considered that the Parthenon became a Christian Church in about the 6th century of our era.

In the Byzantine period it served as the Orthodox Cathedral of the Holy virgin, was the fourth largest pilgrim center of the Eastern Roman Empire after Constantinople, Ephesus, and Thessaloniki. In 1018 Emperor Basil II Bulgaroctonus arrived in Athens after a brilliant victory over the Bulgarians with the sole purpose to worship the Parthenon[9].

At the beginning of the XIII century in the era of the Latin Empire to power in Athens came to the Burgundian commander Otto de La Roche, and the Cathedral was ordered by the French Archbishop. A short time the Parthenon was used as a Catholic Church called Notre Dame d Athenes Is Athens Cathedral of Notre Dame. In the next two and a half centuries by the attacks of mercenaries, coups and diplomatic intrigue control of Athens had passed from the French to the Catalans. Athens and the surrounding territory — the Duchy of Athens is incorporated into the Aragonese Kingdom in 1311. Athens remained under the control of the Catalan company to 1386. The official language Athens at that time was the Catalan and the official religion is Catholicism. In 1387, the power passed to the Florentine family of bankers Acciaioli, then the Greek language has again become the official Greek Orthodox Church has received the patronage of the new rulers. At the same time Athens was claimed by the Venetians and the Ottomans, so the ability of the Board and the protectorate Acciaioli pay the Turkish Sultan tribute. Although the Propylaea turned into a well-fortified, magnificent Renaissance Palace, the frequent change of rulers almost no effect on the appearance of the Parthenon. Changing only the name: Santa Maria de Setins (under the rule of the Catalans), then Santa Maria di Atene (if Italians).

Tours to Greece

Потратьте меньше денег, воспользуйтесь всеми удобствами

Места Греции

Любите путешествовать, делиться своими впечатлениями и фотографиями окружающего вас мира? Тогда присоединяйтесь к нам, чтобы показать всему миру через фокус своей фотокамеры красоту вашего города, страны, достопримечательности или любого другого любимого вами места!

Парфенон

Греция  Греция

Парфенон

Описание

Парфено́н (др.-греч. Παρθενών — дева; чистый) — памятник античной архитектуры, древнегреческий храм, расположенный на афинском Акрополе, главный храм в древних Афинах, посвящённый покровительнице этого города и всей Аттики, богине Афине-Девственнице (Ἀθηνᾶ Παρθένος). Построен в 447—438 годах до н. э. архитектором Калликратом по проекту Иктина и украшен в 438—431 годах до н. э. под руководством Фидия при правлении Перикла. В настоящее время находится в полуразрушенном состоянии, ведутся восстановительные работы.

Парфенон оставался храмом богини Афины на протяжении тысячи лет. Точно неизвестно, когда именно он стал христианской церковью. В 4 веке Афины обветшали и превратились в провинциальный город Римской империи. В 5 веке храм был ограблен одним из императоров, а все его сокровища перевезли в Константинополь. Существуют сведения, что при патриархе Павле III Константинопольском Парфенон был перестроен в храм Св. Софии.

В начале XIII века была повреждена и разрушена статуя Афины Промахос в период Четвертого крестового похода. Статуя Афины Парфенос, вероятно, исчезла ещё в 3 веке до н. э. во время пожара или и раньше. Римские и византийские императоры неоднократно издавали указы о запрете языческого культа, однако языческая традиция в Элладе была слишком сильной. На современном этапе принято считать, что Парфенон стал христианским храмом примерно в 6 веке нашей эры.

Во времена Византии он служил православным кафедральным Собором Пресвятой Богородицы, был четвёртым по значимости паломническим центром Восточной Римской империи после Константинополя, Эфеса и Салоник. В 1018 году император Василий II Болгаробойца прибыл в Афины после блестящей победы над болгарами с единственной целью — поклониться Парфенону[9].

В начале XIII века в эпоху Латинской империи к власти в Афинах пришел бургундский военачальник Оттон де ла Рош, а в соборе распоряжался французский архиепископ. Непродолжительное время Парфенон использовался как католическая церковь под названием Notre Dame d’Athenes — Собор Афинской Богоматери. В следующие два с половиной столетия в результате нападений наёмников, военных переворотов и дипломатических интриг контроль над Афинами перешел от французов к каталонцам. Афины и прилегающие территории — Герцогство Афинское — включили в состав Арагонского королевства в 1311 году. Афины оставались под управлением Каталонской компании до 1386 года. Официальным языком Афин в то время был каталонский, а официальной религией — католицизм. В 1387 года власть перешла к семье флорентийских банкиров Акциайоли, тогда греческий язык снова стала официальным, греческая православная церковь получила покровительство со стороны новых правителей. Одновременно на Афины претендовали венецианцы и османы, поэтому за возможность правления и протекторат Акциайоли платили турецкому султану дань. Хотя Пропилеи превратили в хорошо укрепленный, пышный ренессансный дворец, частая смена правителей почти не отразилась на внешнем виде Парфенона. Менялось только название: Санта-Мария-де-Сетинас (под властью каталонцев), затем Санта-Мария-ди-Атене (при итальянцах).

Туры в Грецию

Потратьте меньше денег, воспользуйтесь всеми удобствами